Blog #21- Home

I’ve been home now for a few days and let me tell you- it’s strange. It’s nice to see my family again, be in a familiar place, and have all my stuff again but there is a strange downloadfeeling about being home this time around. Maybe it’s because I haven’t lived at home in a few years, maybe because I’m not working yet and don’t have a schedule to stick to- but it just feels odd. I feel very displaced.

After coming off a year long adventure, you would think that I would be happy to settle down for a while and do nothing, but I feel completely the opposite. I think it may have to do with the fact that I had roughly 7 weeks off in London to bum around and explore, but I feel so ready to get back into it again. The big questions is what should I be getting into.

A year after graduation now, and I am finally seeking “that” job- the one that will make the happy, the one that I trained for, the one that will help me get a good start in the field I like, and help me narrow down the path I want to take. I’ve been lucky to have had some great people in my life who have offered me help and advice, resume checks and connections, and tones of support. screen-shot-2014-07-09-at-1-58-03-pm.png

I know that I want a career in retail, but working in a head office for a clothing retailer. However, I’ve quickly learned that most retailers are not based in the Toronto area, but more so Montreal and Vancouver. So it looks like I could have a new adventure on the horizon of possibly moving to not just another Canadian city but province all together.

I’ve learned quickly that I am the kind of person who needs a little adventure in my life. I’m not one to be static for long, or get complacent. I like change, I like a challenge, and I love the opprotunity to try something new and have fun. At 23, I don’t want to settle down in my forever city, work there and live there, and then leave to explore. I want to explore while I work and live- and I’m learning you don’t have to change countries to do so (granted I know it’s more appealing and can provide a whole other level of adventure). There is so much of the world to see and explore, but for now I kind of want to see more of my own backyard.

home 2.jpg

Leave a Reply

